top of page
  • Soumi

"The Lost Symbol" - Review



Book name: The Lost Symbol

Author: Dan Brown

Publisher: RHUK (22 July 2010)

Page Count: 672

Genre: Crime Novel, Thriller, Mystery

Goodreads Rating: 3.7/5

My Rating: 3.5/5



Summary:

Harvard symbolist Robert Langdon got an urgent note from his beloved mentor Peter Solomon, to deliver a speech in a lecture in the U.S. Capitol building. After he reached, things took a grotesque turn. He discovers Peter is captivated, and he has to reveal the secret Peter trusted him to save him. Who and why anyone kidnapped Peter? If not Peter, who called Langdon to the U.S. Capitol? Will Langdon be able to solve the mystery and save Peter?


What I Liked:

Thriller is always my favorite genre, and I enjoyed reading this book. Brown was amazing in articulating ancient history, describing the architecture of vintage buildings. The description of the events was smooth. There are images to help the reader visualize the scenes. The story is engaging with breathtaking plot twists.


What didn't go well with me:

The story has a promising start, but some elements didn't go well with me. I felt lost at some points, and the ending was not very pleasing. At one point, I felt the story should have ended earlier.


To whom I recommend:

If you're a fan of Dan Brown's writing, then the book may disappoint you. If you love thrillers, ancient mysteries, and detailed specifications of buildings, then go for it.


This review is a part of the book marathon hosted by outset.com

26 views9 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page