top of page
  • Soumi

Know the habits of your habits

"You're Trapped"

Can't believe it, can you? But it is true. You are stuck in the habit loop.

But what is the habit loop?

A habit loop is basically a way in which a habit works. A habit loop has three phases. Refer to the picture for an easy understanding.



I hope now you have a clear idea of ​​how habits work. If you follow carefully, then you will realize all your habits follow the same pattern. From brushing teeth in the morning to scrolling through social media, all are patterns of habit loops.


But what's the problem with this? Habits are hard to develop, but you know what is more difficult? Breaking one. Habits are rooted deep into our subconscious mind, so our brain doesn't question us when a cue arrives.

Just like solving a known maths problem in an exam.


I always wanted to get relieved of some of my habits, like the one cited above. Wasting time on social media is one of the circles of our severe habit loop. Snoozing the alarm multiple times in the morning, having unhealthy foods are different kinds of habit loops. Here are the mistakes I've made with my habits.

When I first realized I wanted to get rid of my social media addiction, I took action.

  1. Uninstalling the apps.

  2. Installing them again.

  3. Restricting app notifications.

  4. Logging out of all the social media profiles.

  5. Deactivating my accounts.

I've tried so hard, gone so far. But in the end, it doesn't even matter. None of the strategies described above worked for me. You realize how serious my addiction was.

I realized my mistakes after reading the book "The Power of Habit.".

I was trying to cut the cues out of my life, so I failed. If you want to change/break a habit, change/break the routine. Analyze the following picture for a better understanding.


I replaced my routine with another one. It was my short cut to break my habit/addiction. The early days were hard, but now the feeling is great.

I’ve got a lot of time now because the lion’s share of my time hasn’t been occupied by social media.



You can try replacing the routine with any of your habits and transform it into a good one. Eat healthy food every time you have a food craving. Find your "Ikigai" that will not let you press that snooze button.


I want you to change your life. Change the way you frame your life, change your life.

Please like, share, comment, and don't hesitate to give me feedback.


30 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page