top of page
  • Soumi

"Dark Retributions" - An unputdownable horror-thriller

Updated: Jan 10, 2021




Book name: Dark Retributions

Author: Jemimah Jonah

Publisher: Invincible Publishers and Marketers

Publication date: 20th November 2020

Genre: Horror-Thriller

Page count: 216

My rating: 4/5


"I don't regret the things I've done, for they have only made me stronger in every aspect"

Summary:

Mr. and Mrs. Brighton was murdered brutally in an abandoned school. Detective Victoria Brooks is investigating the case, whose brother has committed suicide a few months ago. She also possesses a supernatural power to see and talk to ghosts. As the case unfolds, Victoria finds mysterious connections between her brother's death and the murders. To know more, have a coffee and sit inside the comfort of your warm blanket and enjoy the breathtaking moments of the book.


What I liked:

At first, big applause for the cover designer. Just a single glimpse of it at midnight is enough to give you goosebumps. The author maintains the thrill throughout. Each character developed with a bewildering writing style that touches the reader.


At first, the idea of ​​being able to view and speak to ghosts seems absurd to me, but it makes me anxious when the story manifests the pain of a mother, brother, or a future husband and father. It also shows every sin has its punishment, but vengeance is not the right path.


What I didn't like:

As it's a paranormal book with some witchcraft and black magic is also mentioned, but I would have liked to have more details of the events. The plot is fast-paced, but it could have been more unique.

.


Whom I recommend:

If you like reading paranormal things or watch horror films like "The Conjuring" then this is the perfect book to spend your first night of the year.


This review is a part of the book marathon hosted by outset.com

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page